Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory



Our NDC staff includes engineers, physicists, chemists, computer scientists, analysts, and American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT) Level III certified technicians. Their areas of expertise include x-ray, acoustic, thermal, particle, and surface NDC techniques; software, algorithm, and hardware development; and modeling and simulation.

Specific staff and technical capabilities include:

ContactPhoneExpertiseEmail
Maurice Aufderheide 925-423-6174 Physicist/HADES aufderheide1@llnl.gov
Steve Azevedo 925-422-8538 Consultant/Retiree with 36+ years of experience in NDC, particularly tomography, signal and image processing, x-ray, radar, ultrasound, systems engineering; Four R&D100 awards; Six patents azevedo3@llnl.gov
Nathan Barton 925-422-9426 Modeling and Simulation barton22@llnl.gov
Perry Bell 925-422-9927 NIF Target Diagnostics bell11@llnl.gov
Steve Benson 925-422-7024 Nondestructive characterization, ultrasound, x-ray; software controls benson4@llnl.gov
Joel Bernier 925-423-3708 Material Science (Experimental) bernier2@llnl.gov
Timo Bremer 925-422-7365 Computer Scientist bremer5@llnl.gov
Bill Brown 925-422-7933 Nondestructive characterization (x-ray), signal and image processing, system engineering, hardware design, computed tomography, digital radiography and tomosynthesis techniques brown197@llnl.gov
Jolyon Browne N925-424-2857 Engineer with experience in x-ray-based inspection (baggage, cargo, and vehicle); image reconstruction algorithms for CT; anomaly and threat detection; x-ray-based reverse engineering and metrology browne5@llnl.gov
Vera Bulaevskaya 925-423-8375 Statistician, Systems and Decision Sciences Section bulaevskaya1@llnl.gov
Jim Candy 925-422-8675 Chief Scientist for Engineering, signal processing candy1@llnl.gov
Holly Carlton 925-422-2765 Materials Scientist carlton4@llnl.gov
David Castanon 617-353-9880 Consultant dac@bu.edu
Jesus Castellanos 925-422-8241 NDE technician Level I, experience in ultrasonic, magnetic particle, liquid penetrant, visual, and eddy current testing; phased-array UT; radiography castellanos6@llnl.gov
Dave Chambers 925-423-8893 Applied Math, Engineering Group Leader chambers2@llnl.gov
Kyle Champley 925-422-3777 Tomographic image reconstruction (CT, PET, SPECT), convex optimization, signal and image processing, inverse problems, integral and differential equations, statistical estimation and modeling, probability and stochastic processes, numerical linear algebra, software engineering, project management champley1@llnl.gov
John Chang 925-424-4624 Millimeter Wave Imaging chang16@llnl.gov
Diane Chinn 925-423-5134 Division Leader, Materials Engineering Division chinn3@llnl.gov
Steven Cocoles 925-423-9829 IT Manager cocoles1@llnl.gov
Carl Crawford 414-530-0146 Consultant; X-ray security systems crawford.carl@csuptwo.com
Jefferson Cuadra 925-423-9842 Engineer in X-ray CT; Mechanical behavior characterization coupled with NDE (in particular acoustic emission, ultrasound testing, digital image correlation, infrared thermography and XCT); Computational mechanics using finite element methods; Thermomechanical fatigue testing and analysis cuadra1@llnl.gov
Sabrina DePiero 925-424-6761 Chemical Process Engineer, Area of focus: Home Made Explosives Formulation, Energetic Materials Center depiero2@llnl.gov
Chuck Divin 925-422-9969 Ultrafast optics, MMW and THz generation, Nano x-ray computed tomography, Signal and image processing divin1@llnl.gov
Alex Dooraghi 925-422-1371 Image processing focused on flaw detection of CT data sets; Monte Carlo simulations of CT systems using MCNP; Radiation detector characterization dooraghi1@llnl.gov
Karl Fisher 925-423-0132 Acoustics, ultrasonics, transduction and modeling; Section Leader, MED fisher34@llnl.gov
Pete Fitsos 925-422-1937 Design and simulation as it applies to mechanical and precision engineering fitsos1@llnl.gov
David Fittinghoff 925-422-5188 Neutron Imaging fittinghoff1@llnl.gov
Brian Fix 925-424-3215 Contact and immersion ultrasonic inspections, digital and film radiography, computed tomography, system and software development, x-ray fluorescence inspections fix7@llnl.gov
Brad Funsten 925-423-2613 Engineer funsten1@llnl.gov
Steven Glenn 925-423-7445 Signal and image processing, cargo inspection systems, nuclear and particle physics, nuclear threat detection, algorithms research, systems and software engineering, large-scale controls, project management; Deputy project leader for NCI glenn21@llnl.gov
Ryan Goldhahn 925-422-4914 Engineer, signal processing goldhahn1@llnl.gov
Denise Grimsley 925-422-0411 Sr. Scientific Technologist grimsley1@llnl.gov
Peter Haugen 925-422-0319 Electronics Engineer haugen2@llnl.gov
Peter Hsu 925-422-0317 Chemical Engineer hsu7@llnl.gov
Robert Huber 925-422-6564 Nondestructive evaluation and characterization primarily using ultrasound techniques including laser-based ultrasound, signal and image processing, reconstruction and analysis of computed tomography data huber5@llnl.gov
Gary Johnson 925-423-0156 Electronics Engineer johnson28@llnl.gov
Jeff Kallman 925-423-2447 NDE Inverse Problems kallman1@llnl.gov
Lionel Keene 925-422-0178 Materials characterization via Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy, Raman and scanning electron microscopy; ultra-high vacuum system assembly and maintenance; parallelization and vectorization of algorithms; client application development using the Microsoft .NET framework keene6@llnl.gov
Bernard Kozioziemski 925-424-6317 X-ray Imaging kozioziemski1@llnl.gov
Robert Lanier 925-422-5636 Engineer lanier1@llnl.gov
Sean Lehman 925-423-3580 Engineer, ultrasound lehman2@llnl.gov
Lara Leininger 925-423-6573 LLNL Energetic Materials Center, Director leininger3@llnl.gov
Harry Martz 925-423-4269 Expertise in all forms of NDC, particularly involving radiation (x-rays, gamma-rays) and particles (protons and neutrons) for noninvasive imaging; nuclear physics/chemistry, systems engineering, project leadership; Director of NCI martz2@llnl.gov
Owen Mays 925-422-1178 Microwave imaging and sensing, dielectric characterization, antenna design, electromagnetic simulations mays8@llnl.gov
Larry McMichael 925-423-4911 High-fidelity modeling and simulation, radiographic characterization of materials, high explosive and hydrodynamic experiments, program development and project execution, personnel management; Deputy project leader for NCI mcmichael1@llnl.gov
Don Mendonsa 925-423-2224 IT Specialist, Engineer mendonsa2@llnl.gov
Diana Mobley 925-423-0422 NDE technician Level II, 14 years’ experience in ultrasonic, magnetic particle, liquid penetrant, visual, and eddy current testing; phased-array UT; radiography, Air Force Lead NDI Level V Lead technician mobley4@llnl.gov
Rosa Morales 925-426-6953 NDE Intern; uncertainty quantification in X-ray CT systems; computational mechanics morales31@llnl.gov
Hassan Naqvi 925-422-2747 NDE technician Level III, 25 years’ experience, ASNT Level III ultrasonic, magnetic particle, liquid penetrant, and eddy current testing; radiography, FAA Airframe and Power Plant License naqvi1@llnl.gov
David Paglieroni 925-423-9295 Signal and image processing, computer vision, machine intelligence/learning, project leadership paglieroni1@llnl.gov
Robert Panas 925-423-5569 Dynamic error budgeting, noise analysis, uncertainty quantification, signal variation flow graph generation, statistics, design, compliant mechanisms, strain sensing, precision engineering, additive manufacturing, micro/nano-manufacturing, MEMS panas3@llnl.gov
David Perlmutter 925-422-0764 Engineer perlmutter1@llnl.gov
Cary Pincus 925-422-7346 Systems engineering of X-ray Fluorescence, Digital Radiography, CT and mobile cargo inspection systems, software engineering of user interface and image processing pincus1@llnl.gov
Finn Rebassoo 925-423-3461 Nuclear Science/Analyst rebassoo1@llnl.gov
John Reynolds 925-422-6028 Senior Science Advisor reynolds3@llnl.gov
Randy Roberts 925-423-9255 Signal and Image Processing roberts38@llnl.gov
John Rodriguez 925-424-6519 Technical Supervisor of the LLNL NDE Group; ASNT Level III/SME in radiography, ultrasound, eddy current, liquid penetrant, magnetic particle, and visual test methods; NDE of a wide variety of objects for defense, aerospace, pressure vessels, petroleum, and construction industries rodriguez62@llnl.gov
Joshua Ruelas 925-423-2886 NDE technician Level I, experience in ultrasonic, magnetic particle, liquid penetrant, visual, and eddy current testing; phased-array UT; radiography ruelas6@llnl.gov
Brian Rusnak 925-422-0435 Neutron Imaging rusnak1@llnl.gov
John Sain 925-422-3409 Non-destructive evaluation, computed tomography, digital radiography, signal and image processing, system integration, software development, optical engineering, modeling, project leadership sain1@llnl.gov
Rob Schmidt 925-422-6587 Chemist schmidt13@llnl.gov
Luke Schrimsher 925-422-6587 ASNT Level III magnetic particle and liquid penetrant, Level II NAS-410, ASNT-TC-1A; ultrasonic linear-array, phased-array, resonance imaging; radiographic imaging (film & digital), CT, backscatter; eddy current; visual testing; Level I thermography schrimsher1@llnl.gov
Issac Seetho 925-423-0393 Signal and image processing, X-ray CT image reconstruction, statistics, software engineering & verification, systems engineering, and digital communication and nondestructive characterization seetho3@llnl.gov
Michael Skeate 925-422-0384 Computer scientist/EE in R&D and application; x-ray system design for radiography and CT; radiation detection and measurement, and scientific imaging; project management; modeling, processing and analysis of data for NDE and materials characterization skeate2@llnl.gov
Dennis Slaughter 925-422-6265 SNM Detection/Accelerators slaughter1@llnl.gov
Jerel Smith 925-422-7374 Nuclear Scientist/Engineer smith410@llnl.gov
Mark Stoyer 925-423-3079 Nuclear Chemistry/Spectroscopy stoyer1@llnl.gov
Randy Thompson 925-424-4995 NDE Engineering Technical Associate Level III, 30 years’ radiography experience with computed tomography and digital techniques, ASNT Level III radiography, A.A.S. Degree in Radiologic Sciences, St. Joseph’s Medical Center thompson58@llnl.gov
Joe Tringe 925-422-7725 Materials characterization methods including flash x-ray radiography, scanning probe microscopy, transmission electron microscopy, scanning electron microscopy; also, knowledgeable about high explosives properties relevant for safety; microfabrication processes for electronic devices; Lead for the Nondestructive Evaluation Group tringe2@llnl.gov
Trevor Willey 925-424-6084 Material Science (Experimental) willey1@llnl.gov
Doug Wright 925-423-2347 Nuclear Science/X-ray Sources wright20@llnl.gov